I can’t afford organic food!

You know where this is going. It’s a post that is the opposite of the title. Sorry, but it got your attention so that we can do our important work now. Here I am, affording good food:

IMG_1428.JPG
I bought two organic free ranged chickens. They were $50 for the two six pound chickens. That’s four dollars a pound.
FIFTY DOLLARS?!?

IMG_1407.JPG
I’m going to stretch this chicken. They are stuffed with kidneys and hearts which I got for free from my farmer friend. I’ll use the hearts in a soup. They have a great chewy texture. The kidneys I’ll eat a few then I’ll ignore them for weeks in the fridge and then give to the cats.
1. The kids and I had two drumsticks and a bit of breast for lunch.
Now I’ve taken all the meat off the bones.

IMG_1409.JPG
2. I put the bones on with some sautéed onions, carrot ends, herbs and celery that my friend brought from her garden while I was napping. Some of the meat and hearts I’ll put with the broth for soup enough for two meals and some to give to a pregnant friend.

IMG_1411.JPG
3. I saved the drippings to make gravy. We will eat that tonight over mashed potatoes, cooked veggies and chicken. I’m boiling down the drippings to concentrate the flavour of the gravy.

IMG_1410.JPG.
4. Some of the meat will go with my husband to work to make sandwiches for the week.
Did you keep track of all the meals those $50 chickens made and are making?
-small lunch for kids and I.
-supper tonight
-2 to 3 meals of soup
-sandwiches for husband for the week.

The veggies from the farmers market to go with all this is about $20.
That is nine organic, nutrient dense meals for $70.
Can you afford that? Remember that we are a family of seven.

IMG_1412.JPG
Oh, and the hearts! These make another meal smothered in gravy.
There you have it: 10 organic meals for $70.

*update* this post is reaching a lot of people. How exciting it is that people are concerned about eating organic buzz words. It’s worth it. Every little
Bit helps as does forgiving yourself when you are not eating healthy. Worry is bad for your health. Keep adding in good. Add in good and the good expands. In your belly and in your life.

15 responses »

  1. Thanks for this post: I am a farmer who grows natural, cruelty free meat and organic vegetables. Every time someone tells me they can’t afford to eat good food….it makes me crazy! Simple. Don’t even have to add in the cost to your health of NOT eating good food!

    • This is so true. If we start thinkin more holistically (the entire picture) we will see that a dozen eggs for $5 or $6 is worth more than a Starbucks latte or a large bag of chips. What else can I compare it to?

  2. I think its not so much that people cant afford to eat healthy, but more a matter of people are too busy or lazy to eat healthy. Its far more convenient to go to McDonald’s or pop something processed into the microwave for 5 minutes then it is to meal plan, prep, and cook. I have just recently started doing this and with my schedule, and the fact that Im lazy, it is difficult but I still do it. Did I mention I lost 7 lbs last week because Im eating healthy. I can definitely afford it. 🙂

    • Hello Amanda!
      I agree and there’s also more to think about. While it’s more convenient in the moment to eat at mcdonalds, it is
      Not to have to work to make the money to buy it to feel like death and the cycle goes on.
      I can’t even fathom a Big Mac nowadays. It’s because I’m caught in a healthy cycle. But I haven’t always been here.
      Yesterday’s prep of those two chickens has given me tons of leftovers and meals for the week.
      Last nights supper actually works for today too!
      Thanks for reading.

  3. It’s odd to me that the assumption (from the comments and general society) is that if we can’t afford to eat organic, we must be eating at McDonald’s or Starbucks or snarfing chips. I buy actual groceries for my family. We eat at home almost every night. (We do go out about once a month.) I cook “real” food that didn’t come from a box and doesn’t get prepared in the microwave. If I were buying organic versions of everything, there is *no way* I could make the grocery budget work. There are reasons beyond lazy or bad choices for not eating organically. $70 here has to buy 21 meals, not 10. I think it’s awesome that you can afford that and are doing what you think is very best for your family, but I wish there was a little more understanding about grocery costs . I don’t think any of us can deny that organic food costs tremendously more than non-organic. I guess to answer your question, no, we can’t afford that.

    • Hello! How many people are in your family? Not to deny anything but maybe I can help?
      We don’t buy everything organic. This was merely a simple example of something that is complex and much more than this. I love your input.

      • We’re a family of 3…two of us are pretty picky eaters and two of us (the husband and the teenager) are really quite stunning in the amount of food they can eat. 😉 And we’re pretty happy with how we eat, really! We love our diet of lots of veggies with most of our protein coming from chicken and eggs and some dairy. I even go a little nutty from time to time and buy a piece of beef. 🙂 And when there’s not a huge price difference, I do go with the organic option. (Spinach, for example, rarely costs much more for organic than non-organic.) I also reserve part of our grocery budget for the Farmers’ Market where we can buy local fruit and veggies. (No way can we buy their meat on a regular basis though! Wowzers!) I’m not opposed at all to the idea of organic or working organic into the budget when I read the comments about the assumptions of McDonald’s and laziness, my brain went all swirly. I’m sorry if I was less than my usual friendly self. 😦

        In other food news, we are planning to get chickens in the Spring (our very own eggs!) and we’ve got gardening plans (our very own fruits and veggies!)…I’m thinking that will free up some grocery budget for higher quality meats and dairy. 🙂

    • I’m also curious how you do 21 meals for $70. I think I could do that if I wasn’t using organic chicken. I could stretch this meal even further. I’m up for the challenge of 21 meals for $70. Thank you!

      • Lots of generic and buying in bulk. For example, I paid about $7 for my husband’s lunches for this week….chicken thighs,turnip greens, and black-eyed peas. (Can you tell we’re from the South?) 😉 Breakfast is pretty cheap because we usually just eat cereal during the week…we get more elaborate on the weekends usually with eggs and fruit and things. For dinners, I do a lot like you did and focus on things that I can make extend into several meals. I also prepare things that can be eaten for two nights in a row…that cuts down on ingredient purchases and electricity/gas use for cooking and how hot it gets in the house from cooking. 🙂 Quiche is just as yummy the second day. 🙂

      • Where are you located? Food prices are quite high here. So the $1 a person meal (which for our family is what 10 meals for $70 works out to) is Quite amazing.

      • We’re in North Carolina…from what I understand, food prices here are better than a lot of other areas of the country, so I’m sure that helps. We’re also fortunate enough to have an Aldi near us…that helps tremendously with the food budget!

      • It’s kind of like a discount grocery store. They don’t always have the same foods, so it can be an adventure to shop there, but their prices are fantastic. 🙂 It’s one of those places where they don’t have bags (or baggers for that matter…you pack up your own groceries) and you have to give a deposit to use a cart and that kind of thing…it helps keep prices down.

Leave a Reply

