Big Family Trip: Obtaining Required ID.

20130320-101933.jpg

So, we are headed across one country, USA, and coming back through another, Canada.
Saskatchewan through North Dakota to Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, New Hampshire, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and home again to Saskatchewan.
Are we crazy?
Is it cruel to do this with all four children ages 12, 6, 4 and the little one will turn 3 on the way?
Travel will tell…
I can’t wait.
I’ve done quite a few long trips across provinces with them all.
I have an idea of what to pack, but maybe more importantly, what not to pack.
Over packing is a pain. Six people in a van with a lot of stuff becomes a big, crowded and uncomfortable mess.
I’ve found that so much of it does not get used, but rather it is abused from shoes climbing in and out of the van.
We need a lot less than we think.

Let us start at the first step to this journey, which was the hardest for me.
Required identification and notarized letters from fathers, one who has trouble with English. This should be interesting…
Let me admit something, birth certificate and passport applications give (or maybe gave) me major anxiety, and a life changing opportunity to work through it.
As soon as I would sit down in front of them, I would sweat and go blind. Reading instructions was tricky and sometimes painful.
It is a swell thing that I started six months on applications before planned traveled and that proved absolutely essential.
I broke it down into small steps and did one person at a time.
I will not go into all the chaotic details but two passports, mine and my oldest son, Michaels were not accepted right away. We needed a long form birth certificate for him and a signature from a very distant father. We did It.
They arrived yesterday after months of heart palpitations and continued trying to get it right.It was strange that I didn’t feel relief when they arrived. When you have trust, you know it will happen as it should. And it did.
I discovered that I can trust the process regardless of fear. So now we are off to what I think will be life changing.
But everything changes me.
We are headed for the Life Rocks Unschooling Conference in North Conway, New Hampshire.
Join us…
But first I must pack and plan to feed six people a diet that will not destroy our insides. 😀

20130320-105036.jpg

This is the folder I am using to organize ID for each person, hotel reservation information with a map of each destination and estimated travel time, Customs declarations with a list of foods we are bringing. I printed out the regulations for traveling with food, highlighted and were notes for what applies to me. I also printed out the requirements for crossing the border. *updated* On the recommendation of a friend I’ve included proof that we have ties to Canada. In this I put our official homeschool registration sheet, our tax assessment info, house tax info (has our names and legal address), recent home phone bill, bank statement and Michael’s work permit for Gravelbourg.

6 responses »

  1. Living in Windsor we often cross the border with grandchildren, no problems with just their passports. ps: have you scheduled a stop over in Wisconsin Dells, the whole family will love it there, it is our stopover point whenever we drive to Winnipeg from Windsor ( Fargo, ND is the the other stopover on this 20 hour drive) enjoy!!

  2. Living in Windsor we often cross the border with grandchildren, no problems with just their birth certificate
    . ps: have you scheduled a stop over in Wisconsin Dells, the whole family will love it there, it is our stopover point whenever we drive to Winnipeg from Windsor ( Fargo, ND is the the other stopover on this 20 hour drive) enjoy!!

  3. Hey Nadine,
    That is SUPER close to my Mom in NS. I should plan to get there, from her place, some year. If you want to swing by NS… just let me know. I’ll call her and let her know company is coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

