Why are we using aluminum tinfoil to bake potatoes!?!??!

Yesterday I wanted to make baked potatoes. I bought potatoes and when I went to do it I realized that I didn’t have any tin foil.
This dilemma has freed me in so many ways.
I pondered packing up kids at prime time to a crowded grocery store. And then I used my brain…
Why can’t I make baked potatoes with toxic aluminum foil? Why not!?!?
I love the earth! I’m a member of the green movement! So cut out the crap!
And so I did. Why didn’t I question this sooner!?!?
The result was a satisfyingly moist and delicious potato. Everyone agreed that they tasted sweeter than usual. Was I because I didn’t use foil? We will never know, as I am never using it again.

20120622-145510.jpg

4 responses »

  1. Yo. It’s me:) I think you meant to write: “Why can’t I…WITHOUT…foil?!”

    I don’t know why the foil is so common. I suppose it just less mess. I have baked sweet potato without foil and it creates a nice skin; however, they do leak syrup occasionally.
    Parchment paper is a nice alternative to foil. One can also get individual parchment bags that can be folded over to seal.

  2. The potato has a smile on its face, look close at the nose and mouth and two eyes. Kind of a gooney potato, very nice … I like smiling potatoes. And the skin is the best part, sea salt and pepper and yogurt with green onion bits and bacon and …. off to bake a potato now as drooling…

Leave a Reply

