Custard: A Budding Romance

I’ve just recently discovered custard. Photos can not do it justice! It is so satisfying and rewarding the way it bounces up and becomes spongy after just whipping together a few ingredients.
This Custard and I, we are having an intense love affair and I am astounded! Why haven’t I met you before?
You are everything I’ve been looking for…Easy, fatty and slightly sweet. Scent of vanilla. The possibility to become fruity.
It’s a perfect combination with a world of possibility waiting for me.

I made a basic coconut milk custard this morning paired with blueberries and it was happily gobbled up by the mamas and babies visiting us.
Now I am experimenting with a lemon flavoured custard. I love the euphoria experienced in the beginning.
I know that this is the type of love that last.

Here’s what I did (all blended together):

6 eggs
6 egg yolks
1/4 cup maple syrup (add more if you have sweeter taste buds)
1 can of coconut milk
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp almond extract
2 TBSP lemon juice
Pinch of salt

In a buttered 8×8 dish.
300 • F for 50 minutes.

You can top with things like whipped coconut milk, fruit, chocolate, maple syrup…

I love how it solidifies and resembles a fine spongy pudding. Mmm

I think I’ll attempt fermented banana and chocolate custard next…

20120615-164841.jpg

I’ll eat this with Swedish bitters to help
Assimilate and digest the fats.
On Bitters, in the book “Nourishing Traditions” by Sally Fallon:
From Nourishing Traditions:
Herbal extracts of bitter, mineral rich herbs are a traditional tonic for stimulating bile and increasing digestion and assimilating fats. They often are the best remedy for calming a queasy stomach. One such product is made by floradix. Another is swedish bitters, originally formulated by Paracelsus and later rediscovered by a Swedish scientist. Bitters supply nutrients from bitter leaves that are often lacking in the Western diet. Many cultures, including Chinese and Hindu, value bitter herbs for their cleansing, strengthening and healing properties. Nadine enjoys them for their cigarette butts stored in cows ass taste.

Leave a Reply

