A Toddler’s REAL Rules Of Posession:

1. If I say “mine” it’s because I identify with it and I am just learning about identity.

2. If it’s in my hand, I really like what it’s teaching me.

3. If I take it from you, I see it as part of you, and want you with me.

4. If I had it a little while ago, I need it back to develop my object permanence.

5. If it’s really mine, I will learn to share, when I am ready, especially if it’s never forced on me.

6. If I am doing or building something, I am in deep concentration. I need my space to learn and do it my way.

7. If it looks like mine that’s ok. In time I’ll learn to share from your loving example.

8. If I saw it first, I am extremely curious about the world! I am motivated and immersed in learning.

9. If you are playing with something and you put it down, I may want it because I am designed to imitate you.

10. If it’s broken, I may be done with it. 🙂

20120614-145639.jpg

6 responses »

  1. I am so happy to see positive posts about tot behavior. Everyone around me believes toddlers are just plain “bad” yet no one is willing to look at why they behave as so. Once you understand the world from a child’s point of view, you will realize they are beyond amazing little people. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

