Fermented Banana Muffins (Grain-free, GAPS)

20120531-152603.jpg

I’ve had this idea for a while…
What if instead of replacing sugar with out natural sweeteners, we just ate things less sweet? Could companies make things less sweet instead of adding artificial sweeteners? I think so.
My tastes have certainly changed since eating a more traditional diet. I actually find many things too sweet. Sometimes an apple is overwhelmingly sweet to me!
So, I was on the hunt for a “less sweet” banana muffin recipe that still had butter and eggs in it and used fermented bananas.
It was nowhere to be found! And so I had to invent it.
We always have such an abundance of wonderful pastured eggs here and they are so good for you, I use a lot of them.
I used 15 for this recipe, but it’s also a double recipe. If you’re like me, you make huge batches and share them with friend, neighbours while still gorging on them yourself!

Less Sweet Fermented Banana Muffins RECIPE:

-I ferment the bananas in a glass container for up to a week. They get sweet and black. You’ll need about 8-10 bananas for this recipe. I always make more and use it for other stuff, or
freeze it. It will keep in fridge for weeks longer too.

-Now is the time to get happy and preheat your oven. If you won’t do it now… When!?!? 325 degrees.

-Start melting your butter or coconut oil.

Ingredients:

2 cups of coconut flour
1 tsp baking soda
4 tsp baking powder
10 eggs yolks plus 5 eggs (or 10 whole eggs, but I prefer the yolks for extra nutrients and good fat)
2/3 cup melted butter or coconut oil
2 TBSP vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
3 joyful dashes of salt
1/4 cup sweetener (maple syrup, honey, coconut sugar or nectar or Rapadura- use more sweetener if you are use to really sweet stuff)
3 1/2 cups of fermented bananas (if you don’t have enough you can sub any kind of milk)

I put everything in a bowl and mix it like muffins never should be! It’s so against the rules, but since it’s gluten-free it will be ok!

Bake 15-20 min at 325.

-Eat it and enjoy the natural essence and sweetness of the bananas. Close your eyes if you have to.

*update* this is what the fermented banana looks like pre-fermentation.
Will post post-ferm picture later!

20120531-203621.jpg

4 responses »

  1. So when fermenting the bananas do you have to use the glass jar or is leaving them on the counter until black enough? I was always taught to start with very overripe bananas when they have turned black but with no knowledge of fermenting food on purpose I am a bit lost. Also, I once made three banana breads for a family taste test. One was made with coconut flour, one with whole wheat and the last with almond flour. Coconut flour won hands down with the best flavor and texture!

    • I mash them up an leave in a glass container. More of gets fermented this way. You can see the difference if you put a whole piece of a banana in. It remains virtually untouched by microbes!
      I like coconut flour too!

Leave a Reply

