Nourishing Pierogi Casserole, grain-free!

20120529-191854.jpg

I boiled potatoes (about 14 small ones), I left skins on for added nutrients. You can use fermented potatoes for this!
I mashed them and added a few spoons of non-virgin coconut oil and butter, like 1/4 cup, ok it was really more than 1/2 a cup. Then I added sour cream about half a cup. You could also use kefir, yogurt or a
Non-dairy replacement.
I mixed in old organic cheddar like a cup, ok it was two!
This made up the bottom layer.
I topped it
withchives actually they were actually the tops of shallots (my mom doesn’t know what chives look like).
I also put cooked bacon and sautéed onions on top.
I baked it in the oven for 30 min at 350, but I don’t think this is necessary. We ate it with sour cream and pickled peppers.
It felt indulgent, like when you eat spoonfuls of cookie dough.
Michael said “I’ve been waiting for this all my life.”

20120529-192723.jpg

20120529-192733.jpg

4 responses »

  1. sounds soooo delicious. Should potatoes always be fermented, no matter how you are cooking them?
    Who does the “kooky one” belong to????

Leave a Reply

